London

6 September 2017

Previous Next

Lot 147

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

  • Chassis no. SCFBB04B98GD08760

£50,000 - £60,000

Without Reserve

To be auctioned on Wednesday, September 6, 2017


  • First owned by Prince John Radziwill; single-family ownership from new
  • 2,900 km from new
  • Delivered new to the U.S., formally imported and converted for use in the European Union


Considering the initial fanfare surrounding the new V8 Vantage coupé, it was only a matter of time until Aston Martin unveiled a convertible version, and the Roadster was shown to the public at the Los Angeles Auto Show in 2006, very shortly after the coupé started production. Gaining 200 lbs. over the coupé, which included additional chassis stiffening, performance remained largely similar to its closed sibling, with a 0–60 mph time of 4.9 seconds leading to a top speed of 175 mph.

Delivered new to the current custodian’s mother as a gift, the wife of Prince John Radziwill, in the U.S., this 2008 V8 Vantage Roadster is finished in a desirable and seldom seen color combination of Carbon Black over Caspian Blue. As an early example, it is fitted with the 4.3-litre DOHC V-8 engine producing 380 bhp at 5,000 rpm, mated to a six-speed manual transmission. It is further outfitted with a matching blue soft top, red brake callipers and seven spoke wheels.

After years of enjoyment stateside, it was formally imported to Europe for use in Switzerland and had all the requisite work done to European specification. This included switching the speedometer, and updating the satellite navigation and radio accordingly. All of this work was done by Aston Martin. As such, it can be easily brought back to the United States should its next owner so desire.

A car that is truly as usable on a daily basis as it is beautiful, low-mileage V8 Vantages can be difficult to find, making this single-owner example with just 2,900 km on its odometer truly stand out from the pack. Perfectly ready to be driven and enjoyed both in the United States and in Europe, it would be difficult to find such a compelling example elsewhere.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more