London

6 September 2017

Previous Next

Lot 154

1972 Aston Martin V8 Coupé

  • Chassis no. V8/10534/RCA

£100,000 - £125,000

Without Reserve

To be auctioned on Wednesday, September 6, 2017


  • Rare early Series 2 V8 model with the fuel-injected DBS-type engine
  • Only 288 examples made between April 1972 and July 1973
  • Factory right-hand drive; original numbers-matching engine
  • Quality restoration by marque specialists with numerous desirable upgrades


This Aston Martin V8 is an extremely rare early Series 2 model, with the mechanically fuel-injected DBS engine, as supplied by the factory. Aston Martin records note that it was built in 1972, finished in Imperial Blue over Dark Blue, to right-hand-drive specifications for shipment to Hong Kong, and that it was powered then, as it is today, with engine number V/540/396.

The car was acquired by a previous owner from Tim Butcher of Trinity Engineering 15 years ago. At the time, Trinity Engineering embarked on a complete and thorough, two-year restoration in silver, with both photographs and $150,000 of receipts on file, making this, without a doubt, one of the finest early V8s available. As part of this work, all mechanical systems were redone, the automatic transmission received a modern shift kit, the suspension was gone through, a handling kit and telescopic shocks were installed, the air conditioning rebuilt to modern standards and numerous upgrades fitted. These upgrades included a Vantage front air dam, ‘Oscar’ driving lights, a PoW Nardi wood steering wheel, Oscar India-type burled walnut veneers, a leather headliner and an audio system uprated on-par with the modern Aston Martin Vanquish Linn type, for extraordinary sound.

The car today records 31,000 original miles, with 6,000 miles completed since its Trinity restoration, and is in beautiful order. It would be an outstanding example to drive and enjoy in a spirited fashion, as a gentleman’s express is intended to be.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more