London

6 September 2017

Previous Next

Lot 141

1956 Alfa Romeo 1900C Super Sprint Coupé by Touring

  • Chassis no. AR 1900C 10160
  • Engine no. AR 1308 01053

£135,000 - £165,000

To be auctioned on Wednesday, September 6, 2017




  • The pinnacle of development of Alfa Romeo’s 1900 series
  • Eligible for vintage tours and concours d’elegance


In late 1955, Alfa Romeo updated its classic 1900 one last time, creating the ‘final flowering’ of its 1900 series. Henceforth known as the Super Sprint, the 1900 series still featured specialized examples of coachwork by Zagato and others, while Touring of Milan continued to build the factory-specified coupé bodywork. The 1900C Super Sprint’s key distinguishing feature was a revised version of the engine, with increased displacement from 1,884 cc to 1,975 cc, a higher compression ratio, twin Weber carburettors and four valves per cylinder.

As seen on the offered 1900C, Touring introduced a new version of its prior 1900 coachwork for the Super Sprint, accommodating the shorter chassis with one window per side rather than the outgoing coupé’s two-window configuration. The new Touring design was known as the Tipo 4, or three-window coupé, and it eliminated the prior car’s rear-fender bulges in favour of straight, streamlined haunches. It is thought that chassis number 10160 is one of fewer than 200 examples of the 1900C Super Sprint that remain in existence.

Chassis number 10160 is accompanied by a letter from Automobilismo Storico Alfa Romeo which confirms that the 1900C Super Sprint was completed on 10 August 1956. Sold in Italy just one week later, the vehicle eventually made its way north to Norway. Restored under Norwegian ownership, chassis 10160 was enjoyed greatly before undergoing another comprehensive restoration, which was completed in 2007. Sold to the current owner in 2010, a copy of the cancelled Belgian title remains with the vehicle. Invoices from November of last year show maintenance work performed in preparation for sale, including replacement of brake parts and electrical work.

A great driver and a beautifully elegant car, this Alfa Romeo 1900C Super Sprint is the perfect companion for any rally or tour.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more